IMG_6027.JPGPattison Food Group's Jamie Nelson, a 2023 recipient of the Golden Pencil Awards with his family

The Food Industry Association of Canada ​2023 Golden Pencil Awards took place on November 20, 2023, at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Toronto. Grocery Business was there. Jamie Nelson, COO of Pattison Food Group and EVP of Save-On-Foods, and Susan Niczowski, founder and president of Summer Fresh Salads, are the 2023 Golden Pencil Award recipients.

1. DSC 1667Michel Manseau, Kruger Products; Shannon Higgins, Mother Parkers Tea; Coffee; and Jamie Nelson, Pattison Food Group, Golden Pencil recipient

2. DSC 1693Michel Manseau, Kruger Products; Shannon Higgins, Mother Parkers Tea; Coffee; Susan Niczowski, Summer Fresh Salads, Golden Pencil recipient3 1650Joe Fusco, Marc Giroux, Nicolas Derkach, Stephanie Bonk, Metro Ontario; Christopher Thompson, dunnhumby; Mike Rose, Metro Ontario4. DSC 1634Todd Johnston, Lactalis Canada; Peter Weicker, Fortinos; Larry Bonikowsky, Grocery Business5. Jim 1Shaun McKenna, The Grocery Foundation; Darrell Jones, Pattison Food Group and his wife Elizabeth; Anthony Longo, Longo’s; Vincent Nadeau, Kraft Heinz; Jim Slomka and Tom Shurrie, C.F.I.G.5 B. DSC 1602Greg Burden and Nicholas DerKach, Metro Ontario; Leanne Claerbout, General Mills Canada; Ray Hepworth, Metro Ontario; Leslie MacKay, Conagra Brands6. DSC 1595Alex Green, Sabrina Eels and Deb Craven, Longo’s 6_B._DSC_1608.jpegFrank Gambioli, Loblaw Companies; Joe Fusco and Tony Mongillo Metro Ontario
7. DSC 1600Brenda Kirk, Pattison Food Group; Aurelio Calabretta, Smucker Foods of Canada; Tom Shurrie, CFIG8. DSC 1654Philippe Archambault, Lassonde; George Kioussis, Metro Ontario9. DSC 1646Lance Wade, PepsiCo Foods; Frank Gambioli, Loblaw Companies; Anne-Marie Docherty, Halo Top; Marie-Claude Patte, PepsiCo Beverages 10. DSC 1652Cheryl Smith, Dairy Farmers of Ontario; Pat Pessotto, Longo’s11. DSC 1622Dan Magliocco, Danone; Anat Cole and Heather Fadali, Loblaw Companies
13. Jim 2Seanna Rishor, Giant Tiger, Kathleen Ross, Tony Mongillo, Food Basics and Jim Slomka

14._Jim_7.jpgStefan Mischenko, Upfield, Ralph Younes, Unico/Primo, Ben Santangelo, Advantage Solutions, David Distefano, Lactalis and Aleks Djurdjevic, Advantage Solutions

12._Replacement_photo_Jim_6.jpgPaul Werynski, Justin Croft, Brittany Ford, and Rod Sturtridge, Carlton Cards

16. DSC 1571Carmela Serebryany, Upper Crust; Stacey Kravitz, UNFI Canada17. DSC 1572Larry Bonikowsky and Mary Scianna, Grocery Business with Mike Ljubicic, NIQ, centre19. Jim 2AGreg Coles, Jim Kotsiopoulos, Nestle and Steve Fox (retired)20. Jim 3Mat Stiver-Balla, Brent Falvo and Jeff Lynch, Reynolds Consumer Products21. Jim 4Peter Weicker, Fortinos and Francois Bouchard, GS1 Canada22. DSC 1580Gary Wade, Unilever; Steve Fox, retired, Nestlé Canada23. DSC 1596Tim Lute, Conagra Brands; Jeremy Oxley, Danone; Paul Hogan, Conagra Brands24. DSC 1599Juan Miquelarena, Sofina Foods; Andrea Chiaramello, Lavazza25. DSC 1585Pam Kellogg, Sue and Margaret Hudson, Burnbrae Farms26. DSC 1628Loralee Oliviera, Lassonde; Paul Bravi, Metro Ontario; Daniel Lachapelle, Lassonde27. Jim 5Jim Slomka and Iannick Melancon, Danone28. DSC 1639Mike LeBlanc, Food Professor podcaster; Jenny and Joey Longo, Longo’s29. DSC 1631Todd Johnston, Lactalis Canada; John Kotsopoulos, J.M. Smucker; Scott Lorimer, Maple Leaf Foods; Ron Welke, Federated Co-op30. Jim 3AJim Slomka and Mike Ruff, PepsiCo31. DSC 1637Errol Cerit; FHCP; Giulia Oppedisano, Thomas Large Singer; Sam Magnacca; Acosta Canada32. DSC 1592Scott Lorimer, Maple Leaf Foods; Peter and David Singer, Thomas Large Singer; Tom Gunter, T.A.G. Marketplace33. DSC 1648Dana McCauley, Canadian Food Innovation Network; Michael Graydon, FHCP34. DSC 1607Mary Scianna, Grocery Business; Sal Galle, Metro Ontario35. DSC 1578Jean Gattuso, past recipient of the Golden Pencil; Marsha MacKinnon and Peter Mattson, Burnbrae Farms36. DSC 1613Robert Wilson, Jim Kotsopoulos, Nestlé Canada; Lisa Gilbert, UNFI Canada; Greg Coles, Nestlé Canada37. DSC 1590Dylan, Dayle, Jorcan and Julia Toscan, Market Fresh Grocery38. Jim 11Jim Slomka and Elaine Poon, Church & Dwight39. Jim 10Tony Melis, SIAL and B.K. Sethi, BK Sethi Marketing 40. Jim 12Robert Shapiro, Robert Shapiro & Associates 41. Jim 9Melissa Brandt-Welzel, Brandt Meats42. DSC 1605Nino Stellato, Unico; Ben Santangelo, Advantage Solutions; Mike Rose, Metro Ontario43. DSC 1611Graison Corney, Mike Fuller, Chris Gaydon, Peter Bowman, Saputo44. DSC 1566Mike Marinangeli, past Golden Pencil recipient; Tom Shurrie, CFIG; Tim Berman, retired from Kraft Heinz45. DSC 1624Derek Haley, Cheryl Ong Seng and Ryan Harris, Circana


Back to Top